婴儿和幼儿音乐课的好处

A young child dances in the Early Childhood classroom, surrounded by colorful music notes.

我们知道 音乐课程和课程 提供许多 好处 为了各年龄段人群的大脑、身心健康以及总体福祉。但对于婴儿和幼儿来说,音乐在他们经历关键发展阶段时特别有帮助。

继续阅读,了解音乐如何发展运动技能、提高言语和读写能力等等,同时了解我们的 孩提时代 优秀音乐学院的课程。

精细和粗大运动技能的发展

精细运动技能: 小而剧烈的肌肉运动,例如书写、打字、捡起小物体或在课堂上使用其他工具。
大运动技能: 较大的运动需要空间意识和对身体的控制。

通过首先引入较小的乐器,如摇蛋器、节奏棒和铃铛,幼儿音乐课程为小孩子提供了发展运动技能的机会。 米罗埃尔南德斯 是我们专注的幼儿教育之一 教职人员,他总是很高兴看到这些技能在整个学期中得到发展。他说:“看到一个 7 个月大的孩子开始这个项目时,只是一边看课,一边嚼着摇床,然后随着音乐演奏,几个月后遵循课堂惯例,真是太令人高兴了。”

随着孩子的成长,他们开始运用更多的粗大运动技能。 16-24 个月大的孩子通常会爬行,因此 Tuneful Toddlers 课程中加入了更多基于动作的活动,例如弹跳和跳舞。婴儿和幼儿的音乐课也经常包含膝上歌曲,让他们在看护者的膝上调整自己的精细运动技能。当孩子们长到 2-3 岁时,孩子们就会进入 Movers and Groovers 课程,舞蹈、跳跃和其他运动练习是课程的关键组成部分。

了解更多

Early Childhood faculty Miro Hernandez with three toddlers gathered in a circle.

支持言语和读写能力

演讲: 语言主要是通过听力来处理的,因为音乐课上的孩子更多地练习听力技能,所以言语和词汇的发展会更有效。
识字能力: 学习音乐可以磨练大脑对声音的注意力,从而提高阅读能力。当孩子们在音乐课上学习时,他们的大脑会更好地区分单词中的各个声音单位。

音乐有助于发展婴儿的听觉处理能力。即使在我们最小的班级中,婴儿也开始识别节奏模式并提高理解语言的能力。 “在识别单词模式和音乐模式方面,学习语音和学习音乐之间存在相关性,”说 弗朗西斯·肯尼迪,幼儿项目经理和教员。

音乐,特别是歌唱,使用与语言类似的构建块。孩子们可以学习分割声音并通过歌曲创建声音混合。当他们唱歌时,学生集中注意力,培养听力和言语技能,保留信息,形象化并建立他们的想象力。

随着学生的成长并进入幼儿活动,对语言技能的关注点也会随着他们的不断发展而发生变化。 “当他们唱到 Movers 和 Groovers 时,歌曲中已经有了更多的单词,可以真正融入语言学习,”弗朗西斯说。这有助于学生继续建立词汇量和言语模式。

了解更多

“我和我的孩子每周都期待着幼儿课程。这是打破我们标准日程安排的好方法,我觉得她正在接触美妙的音乐、语言和我们社区中的其他孩子。”

– Emily,幼儿家长

A parent holds her baby in an Early Childhood class.

建立积极的关系

人际关系:音乐可以帮助促进孩子与父母、看护者或其他家庭成员之间的亲密关系。
社区:音乐将人们聚集在一起,给孩子一种归属感。

婴儿和幼儿的音乐课程是加强他们与家庭成员联系的好方法。研究表明 唱摇篮曲是护理人员与婴儿建立联系的有效方式, 因此,摇篮曲被纳入最小的音乐课程中。

虽然我们关注孩子们的好处,但他们并不是唯一从音乐课上受益的人。 “不仅仅是学生,”米罗强调。 “来到课堂上的看护者和家长学习如何将音乐应用到与孩子的日常互动中。”优秀家长艾米丽(Emily)同意米罗的观点:“我和我的孩子每周都期待着幼儿班。这是打破我们标准日程安排的好方法,我觉得她正在接触美妙的音乐、语言和我们社区中的其他孩子。”

通过像成人和儿童在课堂上一样同步移动,人们会感觉联系更加紧密。虽然年轻学生可能不认识课堂上的同龄人,但通过音乐的协作性质,早期音乐教育可以培养新的关系和社会群体。

了解更多

为您的孩子找到合适的音乐课


为 0-8 岁的孩子提供适合年龄的选项,只需单击一下即可选择合适的课程!

分享这个帖子

更多探索

搜索
关闭此搜索框。
搜索
关闭此搜索框。

Search
Close this search box.

Benefits of Music Classes for Babies & Toddlers

A young child dances in the Early Childhood classroom, surrounded by colorful music notes.

We know that music classes and lessons provide many benefits for the brain, physical and mental health, and general well-being for people of all ages. But for babies and toddlers, music can be particularly helpful as they progress through crucial stages of development.

Read on to learn all about the ways that music can develop motor skills, improve speech and literacy, and much more—all while getting a peek into our Early Childhood program here at Merit School of Music.

Development of Fine & Gross Motor Skills

Fine Motor Skills: Small, acute muscle movements such as writing, typing, picking up small objects, or using other tools in the classroom.
Gross Motor Skills: Larger movements that require spatial awareness and control of one’s body.

By first introducing smaller musical instruments like egg shakers, rhythm sticks, and bells, Early Childhood music classes give little ones the opportunity to develop their motor skills. Miro Hernandez is one of our dedicated Early Childhood faculty members, and he’s always happy to see the way these skills build throughout the course of a semester. “Seeing a 7-month-old start the program just watching class while chewing on a shaker move on to playing along to music and following the class routine a few months later is such a joy,” he says.

As the kids grow, they begin to utilize more gross motor skills. Little ones 16-24 months old are often crawling, so more movement-based activities are incorporated into the Tuneful Toddlers class such as bouncing and dancing. Music classes for babies and toddlers also frequently incorporate lap songs, where they tune their fine motor skills while on their caretakers’ lap. By the time they reach 2-3 years old, the kids graduate to the Movers and Groovers class, where dancing, jumping and other movement exercises are key components of the class.

Learn More

Early Childhood faculty Miro Hernandez with three toddlers gathered in a circle.

Supporting Speech & Literacy

Speech: Language is processed primarily through listening, and because children in music classes practice those listening skills more, speech and vocabulary are developed more efficiently.
Literacy: Learning music enhances reading skills by honing the brain’s focus on sound. As children learn in music classes, their brains get better at distinguishing individual units of sound in words.

Music helps develop babies’ auditory processing. Even in our youngest classes, babies begin to recognize rhythmic patterns and improve their ability to comprehend language. “There is a correlation between learning speech and learning music in terms of identifying the patterns of words and the patterns in music,” says Frances Kennedy, Early Childhood Program Manager and faculty member.

Music, and specifically singing, use similar building blocks as language. Kids can learn to segment sounds and create sound blends through song. While they sing, students concentrate, develop listening and speech skills, retain information, visualize, and build their imaginations.

As the students grow and move into toddler activities, the focus on language skills shifts as they continue to develop. “By the time they get to Movers and Groovers, the songs have more words in them to really integrate language learning,” says Frances. This helps the students continue to build their vocabularies and speech patterns.

Learn More

"My child and I look forward to the Early Childhood class each week. It’s a great way to break up our standard schedule and I feel she is being exposed to wonderful music, language and other kids in our community."

– Emily, Early Childhood parent

A parent holds her baby in an Early Childhood class.

Forming Positive Relationships

Relationships: Music can help facilitate the closeness between the children and parents, caregivers, or other family members.
Community: Music brings people together and gives young kids a sense of belonging.

Music classes for babies and toddlers are a great way to strengthen their ties with family members. Research shows that singing lullabies is an effective way for caregivers to bond with their babies, so lullabies are incorporated into the youngest music classes.

While we focus on the benefits for the children, they aren’t the only ones who benefit from the time spent in music class. “It’s not just the students,” Miro emphasizes. “The caregivers and parents who come into class learn how to apply music to their daily interactions with the little ones.” Emily, a Merit parent, agrees with Miro: “My child and I look forward to the Early Childhood class each week. It’s a great way to break up our standard schedule and I feel that she is being exposed to wonderful music, language, and other kids in our community.”

By physically moving in sync together as grown-ups and children alike do throughout class, people feel more connected. While young students might not know their peers in class, through the collaborative nature of music, early music education fosters new relationships and social groups.

Learn More

Find the Right Music Class for Your Child


With age-appropriate options for kids ages 0-8, the right class is just a click away!

Share This Post

More To Explore