2024 年盛典上的 6 大精彩瞬间

Students playing electric guitar, trumpet and saxophone

5 月 14 日,Merit 音乐学院年度 节日 筹集了 $127.5 万美元,用于降低芝加哥儿童和青少年接受高质量音乐教育的门槛。这是一个美好的夜晚,充满了欢笑、美味的食物、获奖者当之无愧的认可,当然还有 Merit 才华横溢的学生令人难忘的表演。

艾美奖-获胜 WGN 记者、周末主播和 Merit 明矾 盖纳大厅 这是她第四年担任主持人。从 Bone Rangers 的开场曲开始(紧随其后) 大赢菲绍夫全国室内乐比赛!),最后以激动人心的结尾曲 铃木阿雷格里弦乐合唱团,那是一个令人难忘的夜晚。

无论您错过了今年的庆祝活动,还是只是想重温这个夜晚,请回顾一下 2024 年庆典上我们最喜欢的一些时刻。

@meritschoolofmusic 感谢我们出色的支持者,我们为 2024 年 Gala 的音乐教育筹集了 $127.5 万美元!看看当晚的精彩片段。✨ #音乐教育 #gala ♬ 原声 - Merit School of Music

大入口

Three guests climb the stairs surrounded by violinists

当你能登上一座大楼梯,听着 30 多位年轻的小提琴手、中提琴手和大提琴手的歌声,谁还需要红地毯呢? 四个季节 本身就引人注目、优雅,但当铃木阿雷格里弦乐团的学生在楼梯上排成一排,用美妙的音乐迎接客人时,这种体验是超凡脱俗的。这一传统是 Merit 晚会的支柱,我们的客人每年都期待着这一晚会。

客人们踏上楼梯,融入大厅弦乐学生高亢的旋律之中,然后在靠近宴会厅时欣赏着荣誉爵士乐团的流畅乐曲。

聚焦校友 Kailie Holliday

Merit 的影响力远远超出了学生在我们学校度过的时间。在晚会上,Merit 校友、首届校友 芝加哥音乐之路计划 (CMPI) 班的 Kailie Holliday 讲述了她的经历,并表演了一段美妙的 崇拜 作者:Florence Price。Kailie 于 2021 年毕业,目前是 西北大学。她表示,在 Merit 和 CMPI 就读期间学到的许多技能对她在大学取得成功至关重要。

“当我来到 Merit 时,我很快意识到每个人都和我一样。这是一个很棒、很支持的地方,”Kailie 说道。“我真的很感谢 Merit 和 CMPI。如果没有这些机会,我就不会成为今天的我。”

Kailie Holliday plays cello onstage

“当我来到 Merit 时,我很快意识到每个人都和我一样。这是一个很棒、充满支持的地方。我真的很感激 Merit 和 CMPI。如果没有这些机会,我就不会成为今天的我。”

庆祝布奇和汤姆

爱丽丝·S·普费尔泽杰出艺术服务奖颁给了两位充满活力的 Merit 支持者,他们多年来为 Merit 做出了巨大贡献,他们就是布奇·普费尔泽和汤姆·利奥波德。布奇称自己是 Merit 的助产士——1979 年 Merit 出生时他在场,但 Merit 是他已故妻子爱丽丝和联合创始人艾玛·恩德雷斯·孔茨的孩子。2005 年,布奇的好友汤姆·利奥波德加入了 Merit。 受托人董事会汤姆和布奇多年来一直忠诚地为该船服务。

布奇和汤姆的性格截然不同,但又相得益彰,认识他们的人都提到过这一点。他们或许最准确的描述是宾·克罗斯比和丹尼·凯耶,来自 白色圣诞节。朋友和同事在这段视频中分享了他们对获奖者的回忆、感谢和祝贺。

我们非常感谢布奇和汤姆多年来对 Merit 的奉献、支持和热爱。他们慷慨的精神和对 Merit 使命的信念影响了成千上万人的生活。

吉他合奏团首次庆典演出

晚会上的音乐表演经常以弦乐、爵士乐和铜管乐合奏、钢琴二重奏等为主。但今年,我们引入了一个从未在晚会上表演过的团体: 温室 吉他合奏团。由 13 名年龄在 13 至 17 岁之间的年轻吉他手组成,他们演奏 维京人 经过 罗德里戈·桑切斯和加布里埃拉·洛佩斯观众随着这首震撼人心、扣人心弦的乐曲而疯狂,为整个夜晚增添了一股活力。

Three students play acoustic guitar onstage

向摩根路易斯致敬

Tom Linguanti and Julie Stapel posing with their trophy

我们很荣幸地介绍 摩根刘易斯 该公司被授予企业领导力奖,以表彰其多年来与 Merit 的坚定合作关系。该公司提供无数小时的无偿咨询,指导 Merit 在其发展过程中取得了许多里程碑式的成就,包括帮助审查和制定董事会章程、管理文件以及扩展到新地点。

该奖项由两位 Morgan Lewis 合伙人 Tom Linguanti 和 Julie Stapel 代领,他们也是 Merit 董事会成员。我们非常感谢 Tom 和 Julie、合伙人 Tom Severson、退休合伙人 Nina G. Stillman 以及 Morgan Lewis 的所有人。他们的支持和专业知识确保我们继续以最高水平运营,以便我们能够为众多值得帮助的芝加哥青少年提供优质的音乐教育。

宣布明年的特别嘉宾

晚会最激动人心的部分之一是宣布明年的特别嘉宾。我们很高兴地宣布 2025 年晚会的获奖者:国际知名钢琴家 伊曼纽尔·阿克斯.

现在就把这个日期记在你的日历上吧——你一定不想错过!我们希望在 2020 年 4 月 23 日在四季酒店见到你 2025 年 4 月 25 日,星期五.

赠送音乐礼物

分享这个帖子

更多探索

搜索
关闭此搜索框。
搜索
关闭此搜索框。

Top 6 Moments from Gala 2024

Students playing electric guitar, trumpet and saxophone

On May 14, Merit School of Music’s annual Gala raised $1.275 million to lower barriers to high-quality music education to children and teens across Chicago. It was a beautiful evening full of laughter, delicious food, well-deserved recognition of our honorees, and, of course, memorable performances from Merit’s talented students.

Emmy Award-winning WGN reporter and weekend anchor and Merit alum Gaynor Hall returned for her fourth year as emcee. From the opening fanfare from The Bone Rangers (on the heels of their big win at Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition!) to a rousing closing number from Suzuki Alegre Strings Choir, it was a night to remember.

Whether you missed this year’s celebration or you simply want to relive the evening, take a look back at a few of our favorite moments from Gala 2024.

@meritschoolofmusic Thanks to our amazing supporters, we raised $1.275 MILLION for music education at Gala 2024! Take a look at the highlights from the evening. ✨ #musiceducation #gala ♬ original sound - Merit School of Music

The Grand Entrance

Three guests climb the stairs surrounded by violinists

Who needs a red carpet when you can ascend a grand staircase serenaded by more than 30 young violinists, violists, and cellists? The staircase at the Four Seasons is striking and elegant in its own right, but when the Suzuki Alegre Strings students line the stairs to greet guests with beautiful music, the experience is transcendent. This tradition is a mainstay of Merit’s Gala, one our guests look forward to every year.

Once the guests climbed the stairs, they mingled to the soaring melodies from the strings students in the lobby then enjoyed the smooth sounds of the Honors Jazz Combo as they drew closer to the ballroom.

Spotlighting Alum Kailie Holliday

Merit’s impact can last far beyond the time the students spend within our walls. At the Gala, Merit alum and member of the inaugural Chicago Musical Pathways Initiative (CMPI) class Kailie Holliday spoke about her experiences and performed a beautiful rendition of Adoration by Florence Price. Kailie graduated in 2021 and is now a junior cello performance major at Northwestern University. She cited many of the skills she learned in her time at Merit and CMPI as crucial to her success in college.

“When I got to Merit, I quickly realized that everyone was just like me. It was a wonderful, supportive place,” Kailie said. “I am truly grateful for Merit and CMPI. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without these opportunities.”

Kailie Holliday plays cello onstage

“When I got to Merit, I quickly realized that everyone was just like me. It was a wonderful, supportive place. I am truly grateful for Merit and CMPI. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without these opportunities.”

Celebrating Butch & Tom

The Alice S. Pfaelzer Award for Distinguished Service to the Arts was awarded to a dynamic duo of Merit supporters who have given so much to Merit over many years, Butch Pfaelzer and Tom Leopold. Butch describes himself as the midwife of Merit—he was present at the birth in 1979, but Merit was his late wife Alice’s baby, along with co-founder Emma Endres-Kountz. In 2005, Tom Leopold, a dear friend of Butch’s, joined the Board of Trustees, on which Tom and Butch have loyally served for many years.

Butch and Tom’s wildly different, but complementary, personalities were remarked upon by several people who know them. They were perhaps most accurately described as the Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye, characters from White Christmas. Friends and colleagues shared their memories, thanks, and congratulations with the honorees in this video.

We are so grateful for Butch and Tom’s many years of dedication, support, and love of Merit. Their generosity of spirit and belief in Merit’s mission have impacted thousands of lives.

Guitar Ensemble’s First Gala Performance

Musical performances at the Gala frequently spotlight strings, jazz, and brass ensembles, piano duets, and more. But this year, we introduced a group that’s never performed at the Gala before: the Conservatory Guitar Ensemble. Comprised of 13 young guitarists aged 13 to 17, they played Vikingman by Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Lopez. The crowd went wild at the percussive, driving piece, which added a burst of energy to the evening.

Three students play acoustic guitar onstage

Honoring Morgan Lewis

Tom Linguanti and Julie Stapel posing with their trophy

We were honored to present Morgan Lewis with the Corporate Leadership Award, recognizing their steadfast partnership with Merit over many years. Offering countless hours of pro bono consultations, the firm has guided Merit through many milestones in its development including helping to review and establish Board By-Laws, governing documents, and expansion to new sites.

The award was accepted by two Morgan Lewis partners who also serve on Merit’s board, Tom Linguanti and Julie Stapel. We are so grateful to Tom and Julie, associate Tom Severson, retired partner Nina G. Stillman, and everyone at Morgan Lewis. Their support and expertise ensure that we continue to operate at the highest levels so that we may provide excellent music education to so many deserving Chicago youth.

Announcing Next Year’s Special Guest

One of the most thrilling parts of the Gala was the announcement of next year’s special guest. We are so excited to reveal the honoree for Gala 2025: internationally acclaimed pianist Emanuel Ax.

Mark the date on your calendars now—you won’t want to miss it! We hope to see you at the Four Seasons on Friday, April 25, 2025.

Give the Gift of Music

Share This Post

More To Explore

Students playing electric guitar, trumpet and saxophone

Top 6 Moments from Gala 2024

On May 14, Merit School of Music’s annual Gala raised $1.275 million to lower barriers to high-quality music education to children and teens across Chicago. It was a beautiful evening

Read More »
Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.